You

I have been on many a walk

Through seasons great and small

I have seen the roses bloom

and watched as rich leaves fall

I’ve skated with a crocodile

and danced under a waning moon

I’ve such a lot of tales to tell

I hope you’ll listen soon

 

There have been adventures

Too many and too few

I have done a many things

But I have not met you

 

I have seen the moon from mars

Painted stars in the sky

I’ve held the hands of giants

Whilst they sung a lullaby

I have dreamt in technicolour

and laughed until I ache

I’ve hugged a stranger

and kissed a lethal snake

 

But I’ve never seen your face

Nor held you in my heart

I’ve never held you close

We’ve always been apart

 

On the next adventure

As I journey far and wide

I hope I get to know you

and you’ll travel by my side

Drawing smiles on all the faces

of everyone we meet

As all the while, our hearts, sing a happy beat

Finding comfort in the beauty

Of a darkened midnight sky

Fighting dragons, chasing fairies

and all those wondrous things

We will be so happy

We’ll find our souls have wings 

 

And in the end

As we reach our final goal

You’ll turn to me and declare

That love does conquer all.

 

 

 

 

Care to add to my rambling musings...?

